Britain’s biggest business representation group the FSB (Federation of Small Businesses) has today, August 1, launched the ‘FSB Celebrating Small Business Awards 2020’ which will culminate in both regional and national finals next spring.


Small businesses throughout the South West will battle it out for prizes across 12 different categories and the free-to-enter awards are open to both FSB members and non-members alike.


Among those winning recognition in the 2019 FSB Awards were the Dr Julian Medical Group, who won the Digital Innovation Award. They are run by Swindon GP Dr Julian Nesbitt which works providing online mental healthcare support in Swindon, Bristol and other parts of the South West. Also recognised were the Verelogic Group, from Swindon, who were shortlisted in the very competitive International Business of the Year Category.


The South West area winners will be announced at a special awards ceremony  at Somerset County Cricket Ground in February and will then go forward to a glittering national UK ‘FSB Celebrating Small Business Awards’ final in May 2020.


Roger Tarrant, FSB regional chair for the South West, said: For a chance to be recognised as the best small business in the South West, as well as in the whole UK, I would encourage all small businesses to enter the FSB Celebrating Small Business Awards.


“SMEs are a vital part of the South West – contributing so much to the economy and making our region a more exciting place in which to live, work, study and visit. The awards give everyone the opportunity to join us in celebrating that.”


The 12 FSB Celebrating Small Business Awards 2020 categories are:

  • Wellbeing in Small Business Award
  • Environmental Business of the Year
  • Digital/E-commerce Business of the Year
  • Sole Trader of the Year
  • High Growth Business of the Year
  • Micro-business of the Year
  • Start-up Business of the Year
  • Young Entrepreneur (aged 30 and under)
  • Business and Product Innovation Award
  • Family Business of the Year
  • International Business of the Year
  • Community Business of the Year (area level only)

For further information and to enter the awards visit